NCBDE Announces New Chair and Board Members Starting 2019

January 11, 2019 08:00 AM

New Chair Announced for 2019
LSandersphotoLeonard R. Sanders, MD, FACP, BC-ADM, CLS, CDE®, began service on the NCBDE Board of Directors in 2016 and started in his role as Chair of the NCBDE Board on January 1, 2019. Leonard is currently Director, Diabetes Care, for Montage Medical Group, Monterey, California. He became a Certified Diabetes Educator® (CDE®) in 2011.

Click here for news release.


New Board Members Begin Service in 2019
At their fall 2018 meeting, three individuals were elected by the NCBDE Board of Directors (Board) to serve in open Board positions. Chrystyne Olivieri, DNP, FNP-BC, CDE®, Jenni Osborne, CDE®, MCHES, MPH, and Becky Sulik, RDN, LD, CDE®, were elected to serve as members of the NCBDE Board of Directors. Their four-year terms began on January 1, 2019.

Dr. Olivieri, Brookville, New York, has held the CDE® credential since 2010. She is currently Assistant Professor of Graduate Nursing at Long Island University, New York.

Ms. Osborne, Portsmouth, Virginia, has held the CDE® credential since 2017. She has been teaching diabetes prevention and management courses to military service members for many years and is now the Subject Matter Expert for Chronic Conditions at Navy and Marine Corps Public Health Center in Portsmouth. 

Ms. Sulik, Idaho Falls, Idaho, is a registered dietitian and earned her CDE® credential in 1998. She is currently the Director of Education at Rocky Mountain Diabetes Center in Idaho Falls, where she leads a team that includes six other diabetes educators.  

With their election, they join six CDE® Directors and one Public Member currently serving on the organization’s Board. As of January 1, 2019, the Board also includes:

  • Leonard Sanders, MD, FACP, BC-ADM, CLS,CDE®, Chair
  • Jasmine Gonzalvo, PharmD, BCPS, BC-ADM, CDE®, LDE, Chair-Elect
  • Joan Bardsley, MBA, RN, FAADE, CDE®, Immediate Past Chair
  • Benjamin Klein, BS, Treasurer
  • Allyson Jackson, RD, CDE®
  • Carol Rasmussen, MSN, NP-C, CDE®, FAADE
  • Britt Rotberg, MS, RDN, LD, BC-ADM, CDE®
  • Sheryl Traficano, MBA, CAE (NCBDE CEO, ex-officio)

Click here for news release.

Click here to see the current Board of Directors.